Approaching Alice Walker

August 6, 2012

So today I finally worked up the nerve to approach the Pulitzer Prize winning author, Alice Walker.  She has been hovering around and above my writing for over a couple of years now- sort of like Ellie’s ghost in the novel, Mendocino Coast. I have notes on all of Ms. Walker’s  blogs, interviews, on her books, and even on her Carl Jung “Red Book” dialogue audio.

She is currently updating her website: http://alicewalkersgarden.com/

I am requesting an interview to enhance my character Madeleine Carter from my Mendocino novel. I was told I could not write a novel with an African-American protagonist- by an agent who never read a damn word of my book. Another reason to consider self-publishing. Regardless, I’m pushing on- If nothing else, I’ll be done soon and will send it out with hopes of finding that perfect agent and publisher.

I am not sure Ms. Walker’s busy schedule will permit this, but hell- I had to try. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

